• Jackie on Foodista
  • Blog Search
  • About Me!

    I'm just a 25-year old girl trying to find a healthy way of living after a few years of losing my way. I'm training for a triathlon and learning all kinds of training and eating tips along the way! I am not an expert - just a girl who is trying to survive in a world of temptations and unhealthy habits. These are my adventures. I hope you enjoy reading them! Feel free to get in touch with me if you have any questions! :)
  • Post History

  • Daily Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2 other followers

It’s Brunch, Y’all!

There’s something you need to know about my husband.

When he likes something, he goes all out.  It can be anything from fishing to bluegrass music.  When it comes to his interests, he borders on obsessive.

I’m not saying this is a bad thing.  (Although, I could use a little less fishing equipment in my life)

And, when he likes a certain food, he wants it all the time just the way he likes it.  One of his favorite dishes is shrimp and grits.

For our honeymoon, we went to Atlanta, Charleston and Savannah.  It was a great trip and I can’t wait to go back.  (I’m convinced that was a southern belle in a past life)  One of our favorite meals was in Charleston when we stopped at the Hominy Grill.  It’s a small little restaurant with really delicious food.  Dan had the shrimp and grits that was absolutely amazing.  It’s been featured on “Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives” and just recently in Food Network Magazine.

After doing some research, Dan found out that there was a cookbook available.  And, he proceeded to buy it.

The book itself is filled with yummy southern recipes like biscuits and brunswick stew.  My personal favorite is the banana bread, which they serve pan fried with butter at the restaurant.  Yummmmm.

But, of course, the star of the show is the shrimp and grits.  Dan made them for me shortly after we received the cookbook and it was really good.  We knew that we wanted to make it again.

However, we haven’t picked up any good shrimp lately.  (We normally stick with the frozen, pre-cooked variety)  But we knew we wanted something nice and hearty for brunch today.  So, we adapted the recipe a little bit and made a brunch version of it replacing the shrimp with a fried egg.

We made the cheese grits recipe from the cookbook.  Remember how I mentioned that my husband likes to go all out?  Well, he actually went ahead and bought grits from the same place that the Hominy Grill buys them from.  I guess it’s a 225 year old gristmill in North Carolina called the Old Mill of Guilford.

I’d say they were worth it.  :)

Along with the grits, Dan cooked some bacon, mushrooms and fried an egg.  The bacon and mushrooms are also served with shrimp and grits.

It was absolutely sinful.  All of the textures and tastes were there – creaminess from the grits, saltiness and crunchiness from the bacon and the meatiness of the mushrooms.  Yum. Yum.  Yum.

While we were cooking, Jackson was on “chipmunk patrol”.  He watches the patio to make sure the chipmunks are staying away from my kale plants.  Those little buggers ate them earlier in the summer.  Grrrr…

I just like how serious he takes his job.  :)

Off to watch some swimming.  They are actually broadcasting some of the National Championships.  Granted, I already know the results of the races, but it’s still fun to see all of the athletes.  G’night!

3 Responses

  1. Those grits look amazing! So when are you guys having me over for brunch? :P

    And Jackson cracks me up, although I really shouldn’t be surprised. My parent’s Springer is obsessed. All she does is go after the chipmunks and she fishes too!

  2. haha your husband reminds me of my Dad. When he gets into something like a hobby or such, he goes full out. But I must admit it’s fun to get involved with something and get excited about it….My husband and I love Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives. We wanna try out every place they go!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

