Snacking Frustration

Okay, I will take full responsibility for this.  I didn’t prepare nearly enough.  However, I need to vent a little bit at the same time.

This morning I had two swim practices in two different places.  I went from 6:45-11:00 with a venue change at 8:30.  Before I left the house, I grabbed a string cheese and a granola bar along with my Nalgene filled with water.  I was good breakfast and I thought it was going to hold me over for longer than it did.  I was starving by the time I left the first swim practice.  And, because time didn’t allow me to do much, I stopped at the local gas station.

I figured that I could pick up a Slim-Fast meal replacement bar.  (Not my favorite and not the best choice, but they normally hold me over for a good amount of time)

However, I was amazed by the amount of absolute crap available in the store.  Pre-packaged sandwiches, some fried taco things, hot dogs (I wonder if they were there from last night!), king size candy bars (for a few of the bars, they didn’t even stock the regular size bars!) – basically aisle after aisle of processed sugar and fat.  Sure – it would be easy for me to just grab a king size Reeses (yum!), but I knew that I needed to set the tone for the rest of the day.  I was afraid that I wasn’t going to be able to find anything.

I settled on a Nature Valley granola bar.  It didn’t fill me up as much as I wanted, but I considered it one of the better choices.  I was tempted to grab a protein bar – but I noticed that they average about 300-400 calories – and they don’t even taste that good!

For next time, I know that I either need to eat a better breakfast, keep some healthy snacks in my car/purse or both.

And a word to those icky gas stations – get some healthy food!  Please!

(Although, I feel another blog post coming on.  Maybe I’ll take a closer look at just what you can find in a gas station that won’t ruin your diet.)

Leave a Reply

