Somebody’s Got A Case of the Mondays!

Today was a strange day – it started with a poor night’s sleep.  I woke up on my husband’s side of the bed.  Apparently I was doing my sleepwalking again.  Always fun to hear the husband say, “Do you remember getting up last night?”  I guess I’m a source of entertainment…  🙂

I woke up at a reasonable time today because my husband needed something.  I was annoyed at the time, but I appreciated it after I realized how good it actually was!  Breakfast was an English muffin with cream cheese and strawberry jelly.

I headed to the doctor for my follow-up appointment.  I’m infection free!  She also gave me some exercises for my foot.  I hope they help…  I’m heading back to the doctor tomorrow for the H1N1 and seasonal flu shots.  I guess I’m high risk because of asthma and the fact that I’m in the schools.  I didn’t want to get the H1N1, but I suppose if the doctor told me to, I should.  She did add that if I happen to get sick, I should come back and get flu medicine.  Thanks for that.

I went grocery shopping for the weekly menu which is:

Monday: Leftover Manicotti (still!)

Tuesday: Alton Brown’s Leek Potato Soup (Our new recipe of the week)

Wednesday: Meatloaf and mashed potatoes

Thursday: Chicken, veggies and rice

Friday: Dinner in Madison!

Lunch was another Lean Cuisine – I was lazy.  Which is no excuse.

Most of the afternoon was spent working on my lesson for Wednesday.  I’m getting a little nervous.  We’re talking about human rights and I’m using female genital mutilation as an example.  I’m going to try to get through the lesson without saying “clitoris”.  I don’t know how successful I’m going to be…

It was my first day without high school swim practice – it was very weird.  I had some extra time.  I made sure to take the puppy for a walk to get some exercise in.

Club practice was uneventful – which is good.

Dinner was ready when I got home – it was the leftover manicotti and salad from Friday.  It was yummy.

photo

Manicotti

Okay, so it’s not the greatest picture and it doesn’t look that appetizing.  But, it was really good and easy to make.

Sauce: (I play with this recipe all the time – it’s my Mom’s)

1 medium onion

3 t Olive Oil

2 small cans of tomato paste

2 small cans of tomato sauce (I’ve also used one medium can of crushed tomatoes – it depends on how chunky you like it)

2 cups of water

1 T sugar

1 bay leaf

1 t Italian seasoning

1 t pepper

I’ve started this a few ways – I’ve cut the onion in half and just put a “X” on both halves with a knife and floated it in the sauce for 4 hours.  Before I’m ready to serve, I’ll take the onion out.  This way, I still get the onion flavor while not having thing actually pieces of onion.  I will do this if I want the sauce very smooth.

Otherwise, I’ve diced the onion and cooked it in the 3 teaspoons of oil until soft.  (I don’t add extra oil to the sauce if I do this)

The rest of the recipe is very easy – just combine everything else together and cook it for about 4 hours for the most flavor.  You can cook the sauce on the stove, but I’ve found that a slow cooker is perfect.  I’ve served the sauce right away if I don’t have 4 hours and it tastes fine – the flavor just isn’t as deep.

Manicotti – Adapted from Cook’s Country Magazine, October/November 2009

3 cups ricotta cheese

2 1/2 cups of shredded mozzarella cheese

1 1/2 cups shredded provolone cheese (If I can’t find provolone, I just add 1 1/2  more of the mozzarella)

1 large egg, beaten

1/2 t salt

1/2 t pepper

1/4 cup chopped fresh basil (I’ve also used 2 t of Italian seasoning instead)

16 no-boil lasagna noodles (the reason why I love this recipe)

Before mixing the filling together, soak the no-boil lasagna noodles in hot water so they get soft.  (It takes about 5 minutes)

Combine the ricotta, 2 cups of the mozzarella, 1 cup provolone, egg, salt, pepper and basil in a large bowl.

Spread a few ladles of sauce on the bottom of a greased 13 X 9 pan – enough to cover the bottom.  Take one lasagna noodle and place 1/4 cup of the filling on the short side of the noodle.  Roll and arrange the noodles with filling in the pan, seam side down.  Continue until all of the noodles are used.  Cover with additional sauce.

Cover with foil and bake for 40 minutes.  Remove foil and put the remaining cheese on top.  Bake until cheese is melted, approximately 5 minutes.  Let cool for 15 minutes.  Serve.  Enjoy!

Web-Rumblings:

Another giveaway! The Healthy Everythingtarian is giving away a sample package of Tera’s Whey.  Check it out here.

An excuse for a massage?  I don’t need one, but here’s a great article from the Fit Bottom Girls about “The Beauty of Massage”.

Alright time to finish some homework.  G’night, all!  🙂

One Response

  1. […] around 2.  I ate lunch which consisted of leftover turkey tomato sauce (the recipe can be found here – I just added ground turkey with the onions).  I put it over some of Dreamfield’s low-carb […]

Leave a Reply

