There’s Nothing Better Than Monday Night TV

Today was a strange day – I didn’t have much to do!  Well, okay.  In theory, I did.  I have a few projects that I’ve been putting on the back burner that I *should* be working on.  But there’s time later in the week for those, right?  *grumble, grumble*

So, let’s rephrase that – I didn’t have a lot of homework today!  And, I didn’t have to work until swim club.  There – that’s more truthful, right?

Breakfast was a first for me – oat bran!  I’ve wanted to try it for awhile but never did.  I picked some up at Trader Joe’s.  The verdict?  LOVED IT!

 

Breakfast!

It was 1/3 cup oat bran, 3/4 cup water, 1/2 banana and a little bit of brown sugar.  It tasted like banana bread.  It was ooey-gooey and delicious.  It was nice a filling.  I think I’ll have to try some milk instead of water.  I’ve also seen a few recipes on the blogosphere that add pumpkin.

I took the pup out for nice walk after heading to the grocery store.  It is getting cold out there!  🙂  I still haven’t made it to 10,000 steps.  I’m only up to 7,000 steps today.  Argh!  It is pretty frustrating.  I am working at it.  I guess I’ll just start doing the 5K walks everyday!  It will be interesting to see what happens tomorrow – when I have class.  Maybe it will help?

Lunch was yummy – a turkey roll up with some applesauce and peanut butter filled pretzels from World Market.  Mmmmm….

After some more homework and some daytime television, it was off to swim club where  I got a little upset.  The new coach was there.  I started getting a little teary eyed – I’m not sure why.  I’m starting to think that it might mean that I’m actually going to go through with making my exit from the swim club.  Maybe not right away – maybe at the end of the season (March).  I’m taking orders from someone who has been coaching for 3 months – I’ve been coaching for 6 years.  My time at meets has been non-existent and now I’m reduced to 1.5 hours a day.  I’m not sure if that’s worth it, you know?  After I’m finished posting, I’m going to email a coach from another local club – the only club I would work for in the area (it’s small).  We’ll see what happens.  Maybe I’ll get over this?  Maybe the new coach with quit?  Maybe they’ll suddenly realize my worth and put me in charge of a group?  Hmmmm…

I came back to make some Avgolemono (Greek Egg-Lemon) soup for the hubby.  It’s one of his favorites – and one of mine as well.  🙂  We paired it with a side spinach salad.  It was very yummy.  🙂

 

MMmmm...

Avgolemono Soup:

(I’m sure there are lots of Yia-Yias out there that will tell me this is wrong, but this is how I make it and I happen to like it this way!)  🙂

1 quart of chicken broth/stock

1 cup rice (choose whatever you’d like – it just might change the cooking time.  I prefer a starchier rice because it thickens it up a bit)

2-3 eggs (I usually just use just yolks, but you can use whole egg, you just might get some funky texture – it doesn’t taste bad, it’s just not as smooth.)  🙂

Juice and Zest of 1 lemon (Not necessary – you can just use lemon juice, but the zest gives more lemony flavor.  It depends on how “lemony” you like it)

1 t pepper (more or less to taste)

Salt – if necessary.  It depends on how salty the broth is.

Boil the chicken broth in a large soup pot.  When it is boiling turn down the heat and add the rice.  The liquid should be at a simmer.  Cook the rice according to the package directions.

When the rice is almost cooked, beat eggs and lemon juice together in a bowl.

When the rice is finished cooking, take a ladle-ful of broth (it’s okay if rice is included) and while stirring the eggs and lemon mixture, slowly add the ladle-ful of broth to the eggs and lemon.  This is tempering the eggs so they don’t turn into scrambled eggs.

Add the eggs and lemon mixture back into the soup pot.  Don’t let the soup come back to a boil, but cook for approximately 5 minutes.

Before serving, allow the soup to cool a little bit – maybe 10 minutes.  (It stays hot for awhile)  This will help it thicken a little bit more.

Enjoy!

Well, now I’m off to watch Monday night TV with the hubs and my “Figure Friendly” shake.  We LOVE “How I Met Your Mother” and “Big Bang Theory”.

G’night everyone!  🙂

 

 

One Response

  1. Good luck with the swim club situation. It sounds like there is a lack of appreciation there for you…that must be super frustrating! Hopefully your talents can be put to use somewhere else.

    That soup sounds tasty and just perfect for a cold, blustery day!!!

    Courtney
    Adventures in Tri-ing

Leave a Reply

