Happy Thanksgiving Eve! :)

Today was an awesome day.  🙂

Breakfast was two slices of my aunt’s banana bread.  It wasn’t the healthiest breakfast I could have, but it was yummy and I made sure it was all I had.

After breakfast, I got a phone call that made my day.  But, you’ll have to wait to find out what it is about…  🙂

I was able to spend the day with my mom.  We went to lunch – Applebee’s.  I got the small BBQ chicken salad and some tomato soup.  I wish I would’ve gotten the dressing on the side for the salad, but I know it wasn’t that big. I’ll remember it for next time.

We were able to get our toes done.  Mine were suffering.  I’ll admit it – I neglect them, especially in the winter.  It was nice to get them done.  (I’ll admit it, I mainly go for the foot massage)

I helped my mom with some Thanksgiving preparation.  I made a pumpkin torte for dessert tomorrow.  (Recipe from JSOnline.com)  It was funny – I actually looked at the same recipe earlier in the day.  And, surprise!  My mom actually cut it out.

I don’t think it will look exactly like the picture, but it should taste good.  Let’s hope! (Image from JSOnline.com)

After spending the afternoon with my Mom, I went to swim club.  We were able to play some games with the kids in honor of Thanksgiving.  It was fun!

Dinner was vegetarian chili.  We love making chili – it is warm, yummy and pretty easy.  We’ve evolved it over time and it’s never the same twice.  We always have different things on hand.  The spices are pretty much the same.  They might differ a little bit.  I wrote down what I did tonight as an example.

Vegetarian Hodgepodge Chili

Ingredients:

Don’t be afraid to change anything – make substitutions, try new spices, make it mild… whatever.  Have fun with it!

1 onion

1 T olive oil

1 jalapeno

1 can large diced (or crushed) tomatoes

1 can black beans

1 can kidney beans

1 palmful chili powder (Yup, exactly a palmful. 🙂  Use your own discretion.)

1 palmful cumin (my favorite spice)

1 t garlic powder

1/2 t cinnamon

1 T black pepper

1/2 t cayenne pepper

3 T hot sauce

Dice onion and jalapeno and add them to the large saucepan with the olive oil on medium heat.  Cook until soft.  (You can easily add meat to this recipe – and we have.  I would cook it at the same time as the onions and peppers)

When the onions are ready, put tomatoes and beans into the pot.  This is what we added today:

I’ve added every bean imaginable.  Anything that’s in the pantry goes into the pot.  🙂  I’ve also played with different kinds of tomato – crushed, diced, puree, etc.  It depends on how chunky you want it to be.  We’ve also added different kinds of veggies.  Just play with it.

Add the spices and other remaining ingredients.  Let it simmer for a minimum of 10 minutes.  I’ve let this chili sit in the slow cooker all day too.  The flavor is just a bit deeper.

Eat with your favorite chili sides.  I love it over whole wheat pasta, a baked potato or just on it’s own.  The husband likes it over tater tots.   I love adding sharp cheddar cheese and Fritos or tortilla chips.  I’m sure the possibilities are endless.  🙂

MMmmmmm!

Dessert was banana soft serve.  I saw it on a few blogs and explored it further.  I guess it was introduced by Choosing Raw.  The post was entitled “This Post will Change Your Life”.  And, it did!  The recipe is as follows:

2-3 frozen bananas

A food processor.

That’s it.  Just “process” the frozen bananas in the food processor for approximately 5 minutes, stopping it every once in awhile to scrape the sides.  And, it turns into a soft-serve like consistency.  It is delicious.

I added a little vanilla to add a little extra flavor (I bet almond would be good too!) and a few chocolate chips.  I wanted to be a *little* naughty.  The husband even liked it!  I’ll have to keep some frozen bananas on hand at all times.

A few random thoughts:

Did anyone else watch The Biggest Loser’s “Where are they now?”?  Matt is such an inspiration.  I LOVED his story about the Ironman – in Hawaii.  I might actually want to do one now.  🙂  (I kind of wanted to already, but it was awesome to hear his story)  I told my husband that if I ever did an Ironman, I would want to do the Hawaii one.  If you’re going to do one, better do the best!  Plus, you can relax in Hawaii afterwards!

And, I was really, really excited for the “Top Chef” finale.  (Go Kevin!)  Too bad Bravo is lame and isn’t going to show it until next week.  What the heck?!

Want some semi-inappropriate Thanksgiving cheer?  Check out this YouTube video from Muscle Milk called “The Sexy Pilgrim”.  Don’t worry, it’s safe for work.  🙂

Have a great Thanksgiving, everyone!  Time for “Glee”!

3 Responses

  1. First off, chili on tater tots…brilliant!!! Tots are one of my faves…you can’t go wrong and I just don’t eat tots enough!
    Second…Biggest Loser was great last night. So many former contestants have gone onto jobs in the fitness industry and are paying forward the message of good health. LOVE IT. I know what you mean about Ironman…it looks like the most amazing challenge in the world. To be able to say “I am an Ironman” would be unreal.
    I better get another sprint tri under my belt before I get too crazy though! LOL
    What other midwest tri’s are good? Curious about what else is out there.
    Happy Turkey!
    Courtney
    ADventures in Tri-ing

  2. Hey Courtney – Sorry I’m just getting back to you now! I’ve fallen so far behind. 😦 Last year, we did the Camp Whitcomb Triathlon. It was pretty good – we’ll probably do it again this coming summer just to see how much we’ve improved. I wasn’t crazy about the extremely hilly bike portion. But, it’s a good challenge. Next summer, I want to do the Trek Women’s triathlon. The last time I checked, they didn’t have a date for the Chicagoland tri. I’ve heard it’s nice. My husband is going to do the Pewaukee triathlon. I probably won’t do that one because it’s really big. (1500+) But, we’ve done the course before and it’s nice. 🙂 Which one have done?

  3. Hi! The recipes here are great. Thanks for having this site. I just found a recipe for Eggplant Parmesan that I LOVE! The eggplant flavor is like beef, but without the fat and calories. It’s a really nice substitute for meat. Click here if you’d like to check out my site. Thanks again – great site!

Leave a Reply

