I’ve Successfully Made it to Wednesday!

Whew!  It’s only Wednesday?  It feels like a Thursday.  I hope your first half of the week has been great.  🙂

Today was another productive day.  I had my banana bread oats for breakfast along with some orange juice.  It was yummy – as always.

I hit the gym for a short session today.  Just 30 minutes on the elliptical – the husband likes to say that I “elliptisized it” – and 15 minutes of strength training, focusing on the upper body.  It felt good to work something in.  I’ve been so busy lately, I haven’t made it the gym.  It’s no excuse.  I need to make time for exercise.  Does anyone have any tips on how to get over this?

For lunch, it was a Lean Cuisine.  It was a nice quick lunch.  It wasn’t the healthiest, but it served it’s purpose.

To add a little protein, I add a turkey hot dog.  It brings me back to my younger days.  I love mac and cheese with hot dogs.  Is that weird?  Did anyone else do that?  And, as always, I always add a dash of hot sauce.  🙂

The rest of the afternoon was spent on some homework (I’m actually getting ahead!) and doing some laundry.  We were pretty far behind on laundry.  It feels really good to get it done.

I had a special treat when I got home from swim club – the husband made dinner!!  He made his black beans and rice.  Now, we cheat a little bit when we do this, but the husband makes it soooooo good.  🙂

He starts with a diced onion and some sausage and sautes them a little bit.  And then, he adds a black beans and rice mixture from the grocery store.

Semi-Homemade!

He made it according to the package while adding some diced fire-roasted tomatoes with green chilies, creole seasoning, pre-cooked shrimp, some extra brown rice (TJ’s frozen stuff) and some hot sauce.  Mmmmm!

So, dinner was the black beans and rice with a salad.  It was perfect.  My husband spoils me sometimes.  🙂

For dessert I attempted to make a recipe that I found in one of my mom’s magazine.  The recipe was called “Pumpkin Cream Cupcakes” from Kraft.  It was just one big fail.  Here’s the picture from the website:

Looks yummy, right?  I thought so – and the recipe looked (and was) super easy.  Here’s what mine looked like –

Fail.

I followed the directions very carefully – I always do the first time I make something.  I don’t know where I went wrong.  And, on top of the looks – they didn’t cook all the way.  I swear – I put a toothpick in and it came out clean – twice.  Argh.  I even put them back into the oven.  No beans.  Maybe I’ll try again.  Although, I might just stick with my Mom’s pumpkin recipe.  It’s so much better.  🙂

So, there you go.  There’s my Wednesday.  🙂  Off to watch “Top Chef” (Go Kevin!) and “Glee”!  Have a great night, everyone!

4 Responses

  1. One of our leadership speakers mentioned that successful people do this:

    Do the one thing you dread before 9:00am.

    I say that might be a way to get to the gym…. making it a goal to get there before 9.

    (P.S. This is Lauren.. I made a blog for my trip, hence the name)

  2. Love the cupcakes.

    Funny how small the blogging world is?! Glad to see you on here and will definitely be following, since it’s been awhile since we have talked!

    • I know! I couldn’t believe it. I think I yelled, “Hey! I know her!” 🙂 I’m glad you’re doing well. You’ll have to let me in on some of your secrets. You look fantastic. 🙂 I hope everything is going well! I love your blog!!

Leave a Reply

