I Declare A Snow Day!

I didn’t have much to do today.  I was supposed to go down to school to do some work for a professor, but I decided to stay in because of the slick roads.  My professor understood.

The end of the semester is close to an end.  I can see the light at the end of the tunnel.  It’s so close!  Only one quiz and two finals stand in my way.  Not bad – not bad at all.  🙂  (Too bad one of them isn’t until next Friday at 3:30!!)

I didn’t even have to coach today because of the weather.  I had the entire day to myself.  It was strange.  It was a good thing I picked up season 2 of “Dexter” at the library yesterday.  Otherwise I would’ve been lost and had nothing to do.  🙂

Dinner was a new experiment.  I’ve been wanting to try making ravioli with won-ton wrappers ever since I saw Giada do it on the Food Network.  I really want to try her Nutella-filled raviolis, but that might have to wait.  (Hello, my name is Jackie and I am addicted to Nutella.)

So, this what I came up with.  I’ll have to do a few tweaks, but it was fairly successful and husband approved.

Chicken & Spinach “Ravioli”

1 package won-ton wrappers (I found mine by the salad greens at the grocery store)

1 clove garlic (chopped very finely, grated or pressed)

2-3 chicken breasts, cooked a cut into small pieces

3/4 cup ricotta cheese

1/4 cup shredded Italian cheese

1/2 package frozen spinach – thawed and strained

1/2 T dried oregano

1/2 T dried basil

1 t black pepper

Other ingredients: 1 egg, dash of water

Add all of the ingredients (except for the wonton wrappers) into a food processor.

Pulse the ingredients in the food processor until well-combined and relatively smooth.  Take 1 T of the mixture and place it in the middle of a won-ton wrapper.  Mix together one egg and a splash of water in another bowl.  Take a pastry brush (or your finger) and place the egg mixture along two sides of the won-ton skin.  Fold over – and be sure to seal the edges well.

When you’re ready to cook, place the ravioli in salted, boiling water for approximately 5 minutes (or when the ravioli floats to the water’s surface).  Serve immediately with your favorite sauce – we chose our standard tomato sauce.

Freeze the leftovers individually and then bag them when they’re completely frozen.

Overall, they tasted pretty good especially for my first crack at it.  I think it would a lot better with actual pasta, but that’s a challenge for another day.  🙂  For a won-ton wrapper, they’re pretty good.  I’m sure I can modify this recipe a lot.  Maybe create a mushroom mixture with a burned butter sauce?  Mmmm….  I’m loving the possibilities already.

If you try this recipe, let me know if you made any modifications!  I’m interested to hear your thoughts.

Alright – time to watch “Glee” and the “Top Chef” finale.  I just found out today that Idina Menzel is going to make an appearance on “Glee”.  I think the role is Lea Michele’s character’s biological Mom – which would be perfect because they look A LOT alike!

Idina Menzel - Courtesy of http://www.keithprowse.co.uk

Lea Michele - Image Courtesy of Broadway World

I love both of them.  🙂

I’m excited for “Top Chef”!!  Go Kevin!  I guess he’ll actually be tweeting live during the finale.  G’night everyone!!

7 Responses

  1. That ravioli looks wonderful – you are very talented! I have never made my own pasta before – but the idea of using wonton wrappers is a good one 🙂

    • I’ve never made my own pasta before either. I still have to try it! Let me know if you find a good recipe. 🙂

  2. I made wonton ravioli a few days ago and I baked them because my filling (pumpkin) kept wanting to come out….they tasted great with a little crisp from the oven! I am going to have to try boiling them like you did!

    • Ooo…. pumpkin sounds good. Maybe I’ll try that with the leftover won-ton skins. I was thinking sweet potato might be good too. 🙂

  3. YUM! These look great, and EASY! And I love the sweet potato filling idea…awesome.

    Courtney
    adventures in tri-ing

  4. Just found your blog and can see, besides the age difference, we have a lot in common!

    Stick with the wonton wrappers! I’ve made ravioli from scratch, and you just can’t get the pasta thin enough (well, without a dough press) to make them as good with the wonton wrappers.

    Sadly, we have a deep fryer so I sometimes make fried ravioli with marinara sauce for a snack! 😀

    I haven’t seen Glee yet (no one in my family watches it but me, so it is my weekend guilty pleasure) but watched Top Chef.

    Kevin got ripped off! Preeti (don’t judge, but I called her monkey arms at the beginning of the show) did absolutely NOTHING to help Kevin.

    And I am sad that brother won – if it had been either of them, I would have liked Michael to win.

    Aren’t you glad I can type 120 words per minute??!!

    • I’ve been wanting a pasta machine for awhile – but the seem pretty expensive. Maybe I can put together some Christmas money or something. 🙂

      Kevin totally got ripped off!! I think the whole sous chef system during finales is out of whack. It’s all luck. It doesn’t really showcase the chef. At least Kevin has a great shot at fan favorite. I hope he gets it next week.

      I’d rather have the other brother win too. The one who did win was just kind of mean. And, I thought he was pretty inconsistent.

Leave a Reply

