Review: The (Short) Weekend

Where has the time gone?  I can’t believe it’s Sunday already!  I hope you all had a wonderful weekend.

On Friday, I was able to visit my grandparents.  I helped decorate their apartment for Christmas.  🙂  After that, it was off to my first meeting and practice with the new swim club.  Now, I’m not officially gone from my old swim club, but they wanted me at the coach’s meeting.  It went well.  It looks like there will be a few challenges ahead, but nothing I can’t handle.  🙂

For dinner, the husband and I decided to go out to one of our favorite Mexican places – Mi Cocina.  I got home pretty late from practice and the last thing in my mind was finding something for dinner.  I did pretty well nutrition-wise.  I didn’t eat my entire meal.  I did have a small margarita, but I deserved it, dang it!

Saturday was busy.  My family attended the ALS Christmas party.  I was a little nervous – there was a buffet.  But, thankfully, it was sandwiches.  It was easy to make good choices.  After lunch, it was time for a little shopping.  I was able to stop at Penzy’s.  I was out of vanilla sugar, and we needed to get some dried ancho chilies for some soup later in the week.  In addition to those items, I also picked up some white pepper and sea salt.  I could do a lot of damage in that store.  It’s a good thing the husband came with me!

We decided to have soup again for dinner.  I asked the husband what kind he wanted, and he said “Leek-Potato”.  I was surprised – I thought he would be sick of it.  It sounded good, so we went with it.  It was delicious, and the white pepper added a little more heat.  I did use fat-free half-and half as a bit of a change, but I think it made it sweet.  Does that make sense?  I’m assuming they added some sugar to take the place of the fat.  Definitely not worth it.

We used turkey bacon and sharp cheddar cheese as accompaniments.  Although it tasted a bit off, it was still good.

For dessert, I made some molasses cookies.  They are my favorite kind of cookie.  I found the recipe on allrecipes.com.  They are nice and chewy – just the way I like them.

With the soup and the cookies, the husband and I had some Virginia wine.  I love the stuff.

I didn’t know anything about wine until I went out there for a summer.  I still don’t know much about wine, but I know a little bit more now – thanks to a few wine tastings and winery tours.

It was a good night.

I spent most of the day working on some statistics for a professor.  It was tedious and took a lot of time.  I’m still not done – but I have the majority completed.

For dinner, we went with an old standby – chicken parmesan.  We had leftover sauce and cheese.  We served it with some green beans and low-carb pasta.  It was delicious.

Now, we’re enjoying “Home Alone” and settling in.  I think I have to wait for the husband to go to bed in order to watch the season finale of “Dexter”.  He doesn’t like it – Booooo!

Tomorrow is a busy day.  I have to finish the statistics and start inputing them into the computer down on campus.  And, I actually get to meet my cooperating teacher for next semester.  I’m really looking forward to student teaching now.  Two sections of civics (juniors/seniors) and two sections of 20th century U.S. history.  I love it!  And, it’s at the school that I coach for.  So, I already know a few of the kids.  I really lucked out!  🙂

Have a great week, everyone!

3 Responses

  1. I love that you got married at Miller Park!! Such an amazing stadium. Growing up we went to lots of Brewer games at County Stadium but I’ve never been too much of a baseball fan. I’m now a de facto White Sox fan because my hubby is a huge fan and it is the only damn thing on our tv all summer! I figured it was easier to join in and be a fan! :>
    Sounds like you have a busy day…your weekend eats looked TASTY!
    Courtney
    adventures in tri-ing

  2. I love molasses cookies too! So delicious!

  3. Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

Leave a Reply

