It Feels Like Friday…

The combination of no swim practice and the husband being home throws my week off.  I have to remind myself that it’s Tuesday!

I spent most of the day with my dear aunt.  I took her to the dentist and ran a few errands with her.  For lunch, we met the husband at a local family restaurant.  I had a grilled turkey and cheese sandwich with some soup.  Not terrible.  The problem lies with the stuff that my aunt sent me home with!  Holy Greek sweets!  Lots of cookies, baklava and other treats.  I’m trying to stay out of them and make sure they actually get to some Christmas festivities.  🙂

After I got home, it was off to get the husband’s Christmas present.  I decided that he needed to come with me, so he actually got it a few days early.  He got the stereo he’s been eyeing up for a few weeks.  Yes, it’s really expensive, but it’s what he wanted.  He knows what he wants and won’t settle for anything less – which can be good and bad.  I was going to get him a smaller one, but I knew he would just take it back and put the money towards the bigger one.  I thought I would save myself a trip.  🙂

He’s very excited and started setting it up right away.  (He’s playing with it as I type)  In fairness, I was able to open one of my gifts – he got me a Wii!  I wanted one for the exercise games – and just to kick my husband’s butt in something electronic!  (I’m terrible at regular video games)

For dinner, we wanted to go light – which means soup.  I played around with Trader Joe’s Butternut Squash Puree.

(The containers in the background are just *some* of the baked goods my aunt gave us!)

They had a recipe on the can and I used it as a base and made it my own.  Here’s what I came up with:

Butternut Squash Soup

1/2 large onion, diced

1 T olive oil

4-6 cups chicken/vegetable broth (enough to cover the veggies)

2-4 small Yukon Gold potatoes (depends on how much potato flavor you want), peeled and diced

1 can (15 oz) TJ’s butternut squash puree

1/4 t nutmeg

1/8 t sugar

3/4 – 1 cup milk (I used skim)

1/4 t allspice

1/4 t cloves

1/4 t white pepper (Careful with this – it sneaks up on you)

1/4 t garlic powder (I didn’t have any fresh cloves)

Salt

Dice the onions and cook with olive oil until soft in a large pot.  Add the broth, potatoes, puree, nutmeg and sugar.  (The broth should just come about an inch above the veggies)  Cook on medium-high heat until the potatoes are tender (approximately 25 minutes). After the potatoes are tender, take the pot off the heat.  Puree the mixture with an immersion blender or in a blender/food processor.  Place the pot back on medium heat.  Add the remaining ingredients.  Cook for approximately 5 more minutes.

Overall it was very good – very filling.  I think I’ll cut back on the potatoes next time and let the squash shine through a little more.  (I used four small potatoes)  That white pepper is really sneaky!  You can’t really taste it, but it will heat up the back of your throat when you’re not expecting it.  I love it.  🙂

I added a little parmesan cheese on top and served it with some bread.  Yum!

I think it might be time to play some Wii!  🙂

2 Responses

  1. Yummy! That soup looks AWESOME, I’m looking for the puree next time I’m at Joe’s.

    Have fun with your Wii!!

    Courtney
    adventures in tri-ing

  2. Your soup sounds amazing!

    Merry Christmas to you and Dan and Jackson, and the rest of the family too!

Leave a Reply

