It’s a Sad Day in Wisconsin…

…because the Packers lost!  What a game, though!  I only watched the second half – which turned out to be the better half.  What a crappy way to lose a game.  Aaron Rodgers will never be able to get that out of his head, that’s for sure.  Bummer!  Now, if I don’t want the Vikings to win, I have to cheer for the Cowboys?  Gross.

On the outside of the Packer craziness, life certainly hasn’t slowed down.  I had my first full week as a new coach and it went well.  A little shaky because I didn’t know anyone – but it got easier.  I’m not quite sure where the time is going.  I thought I had all of this time before I started student teaching, but I only have two weeks!  Yikes.  I had better get crackin’ on those lesson plans.  🙂

The diet has been going pretty well.  I definitely didn’t get to the gym as much as I wanted to – but when I did go, it was intense.  Kickboxing and spinning can certainly get you moving – and sweating!  I think I found my Jillian – her name is Monica and she works at the club.  She’s the kickboxing instructor and she knows how to kick my butt.  I burned 600 calories in one hour!  I love it.  This week, I need to focus on getting to the gym a lot more.  I’m starting tomorrow – with Monica.  That will be a great start to the week!

Sticking to my calories has also been a little tough.  I really, really hate measuring (Yes, I know.  I have to do it!) and I just got a little lazy here and there.  And, we went out to eat twice this week.  I did stick to my calories on Friday because we went to Applebee’s and I tried another “Under 550 Calories” entree.  I love it when restaurants do that.  But, I’m not a huge fan of chains.  And, it’s difficult for non-chains to do that.  Oh well – I know there are healthy choices, I just have to find them.  🙂

Tonight, I made an Ina Garten inspired dish.  Overall, it was pretty yummy.  However, I need to follow it exactly next time.  I normally follow a recipe perfectly the first time around, but I didn’t want to spend money on fresh shrimp when I had some frozen shrimp in the freezer.  So, I had to improvise!

Here’s the recipe from the January/February 2010 issue of Food Network Magazine (pg. 95).  This is how it is written.  I added my notes at the bottom.

Lemon Pasta with Roasted Shrimp (Ina Garten)

Serves 6

2 pounds (17-21 count) shrimp, peeled and deveined

Good Olive Oil

Kosher Salt & Pepper

1 pound angel hair pasta

4 T unsalted butter, melted

Zest and juice of 2 lemons

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Place shrimp on a sheet pan with 1 tablespoon of olive oil, 1/2 teaspoon of salt and 1/2 teaspoon of pepper.  Toss well, spread them in one layer and roast for 6 to 8 minutes, just until they’re pink and cooked through.

2. Meanwhile, drizzle some olive oil in a large pot of boiling salted water water (Note: I skipped the oil), add angel hair and cook until al dente, about 3 minutes.  Drain the pasta, reserving some of the cooking liquid.  Quickly toss the angel hair with the melted butter, 1/4 cup olive oil, the lemon zest, lemon juice, 2 teaspoons of salt, 1 teaspoon of pepper and about 1/2 cup of the reserved cooking liquid.  Add the shrimp and serve hot.

Notes: I used precooked frozen shrimp.  I simply warmed them in a pan on the stove.  I think the dish would have been better if I had roasted the shrimp.  Oh well, next time.  🙂  I reduced the amount of butter to half.  The husband did think it was too lemony.  I didn’t mind it.  (That might be the Greek in me!)  You might want to taste as you go.  We also added some asparagus and some asiago cheese.

I really enjoyed the dish.  It was really quick to cook up – about 20 minutes.  It was nice and light.  The asparagus was a really nice addition.  I would’ve needed a lot more if I didn’t add it.  🙂

For dessert, I made some buttermilk pound cake.  I had to buy a larger container of buttermilk for a recipe and I wanted to find something to do with it.  It was a success!  Here is the link to the recipe.  (I apologize for the lack of pictures!)  I did make a small change – instead of lemon extract, I added almond.  I prefer almond and I didn’t have lemon.  I absolutely love pound cake – but I am limiting myself to one piece.  And, I’m taking the second loaf to my mother.

Tomorrow, I get to pick up the new-used car.  We decided on a Ford Focus – which I didn’t expect to do in a million years.  But, it was a fantastic deal – almost too good to be true.  It’s a little smaller than I wanted, but I can deal with it.

I hope your Monday is just as exciting!  Jackson says “hello”!  He’s still enjoying the snow.  🙂

2 Responses

  1. Such a cute pup pic! Looks like he loves rubbing his face in the snow like my pups.
    Can’t believe that Packer game…I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. I still love the Packers and Aaron Rodgers though…can’t wait for next year!!!
    And I will be a Cowboys fan…but only for a week!! :>

    That linguine looks delish..I love Ina.
    Courtney
    adventures in tri-ing

  2. Aww Jackson is too cute. I swear he could be the twin to my parent’s dog, who loves to bury her head in the snow too!

    About your question: I haven’t tried carmelizing onions in the oven, mainly because my cookware is totally oven-safe. My mom has though, and says that it works well. I’ve also heard that you can do them in the crockpot. I do, however, make a big batch and freeze them, it works out well!

Leave a Reply

