To My Biggest Fan…

Hi blogword…

I apologize for my absence.  Like I usually say, things have been a little crazy around here.  Last week wasn’t the greatest week.  On top of not being very mobile because of my ankle, I started student teaching – which has gone well so far.  On Tuesday, a friend and mentor from my high school passed away.  And, on Wednesday, my grandfather passed away.

About a year ago, he was diagnosed with ALS.  The first sign was his voice.  He started to have trouble speaking clearly.  At the end of summer, it was hard to understand him at all.  Since his diagnosis, his mobility began to decline a little at a time.  Up until about two months ago, he could still walk.  However, from about December on, it grew increasingly more difficult because it was hard for him to breathe.  In July, he had a feeding tube put in.  He tried to eat as much as he could – but when his speech left, so did his ability to eat.  In the end, he was so miserable it was painful for an outsider to watch.

He kept his promise to wait for my sisters to come home from their trips.  They saw him before he passed away and gave him the coins they collected for him – he was an avid coin collector.  My entire family was there, in addition to my cousin, when he passed away.

My grandfather was a wonderful man.  He had such a love for life and for his family.  He would give you the shirt off his back.  He loved food – which made it even more heartbreaking when he lost the ability to eat.  He loved all of my cooking and appreciated anything I made – even if he didn’t like it.  He truly was my biggest culinary fan.

I miss him so much already.  But, I know he’s up in heaven enjoying a huge piece of chocolate cake with some chocolate ice cream – partially melted.  (He taught me to microwave my ice cream to get it juuuuuuust right)  He’s up there driving his cars with the angels and not holding any smart-ass comment back.  He truly is in a better place.

I love you, Grandpa.

3 Responses

  1. I love you too Grandpa.

    …. I wish I had some Chocolate Ice cream to celebrate your life 🙂

    -Lauren

  2. I’m sorry for both your losses…sounds like you have some wonderful memories to hold on to during this time.
    Courtney
    adventures in tri-ing

  3. Missing him everyday…

    Now play it sweet up in heaven. Love you.

Leave a Reply

