Body Buggin’

Well, today started a new challenge.  My family got together and four of us got Body Buggs.  They are those little things you see on the arms of all of the Biggest Loser contestants.  My sisters (who have nothing to lose, btw) talked to someone at church who lost 50 pounds using the system.  So, we decided to put the money down and give it a shot.  After all, we have to look fabulous at my brother’s wedding next June.  🙂

I’ve used it for a day now and it’s pretty easy to use.  I’m still getting used to the online software (you have to document all of your calories online), but I’m sure it will get a little easier.  I actually reached my calorie deficit goal today – 1,000 calories to lose 2 pounds a week.  And, I didn’t even formally exercise today.

The great thing is that it keeps track of my steps.  I was short on my steps today – but I was more conscious of how many steps I took during swim practice.   I moved a little bit more than usual.  Tomorrow, my goal is to reach 10,000 steps.  Baby steps, baby steps…

The only thing I don’t really like – especially now in the summer – is that everyone’s going to know what I’m doing.  I work with kids – and they ask a lot of questions.  🙂  But, I suppose it’s worth it if it works!

Today, I was fortunate to have some time in the evening.  With a lot of family things and late swim practices lately, I haven’t really had an opportunity to cook.  Today, I came home and decided to try a new recipe.  I was inspired by Mel over at A Taste of Life to try my hand at another risotto.  I have made a few risottos in the past, but they’ve been filled with cheese and cream.  Yes, they have been delicious, but not that good for you.

I searched for a few recipes online and adapted one to my personal liking.

Asparagus & Pea Risotto –

Adapted from allrecipes.com

  • 9 oz package of frozen asparagus, heated
  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped onion
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 cup uncooked Arborio rice
  • 1/3 cup dry white wine
  • 1 tsp butter
  • 1/4 cup grated Asiago cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • Zest of one lemon
  1. Heat frozen asparagus according to the package’s instructions.  Set aside.
  2. In a large saucepan, bring broth to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and maintain at a simmer. In a large heavy skillet, cook onion in oil over medium heat until tender. Add rice and stir to coat well; cook 3 minutes longer. Add wine and cook until absorbed.
  3. Stir in 1/2 cup simmering broth. Cook until broth is almost completely absorbed, stirring frequently, then add another 1/2 cup of simmering broth; the process should take about 20 minutes. Rice should be slightly firm in center and look creamy.
  4. Add asparagus and frozen peas; heat through. Remove from the heat; add the butter, Asiago cheese, lemon zest, salt and pepper. Serve immediately.

I served it with a center-cut pork chop with a little of Penzy’s poultry seasoning, salt and pepper.

Overall, it was a great meal.  The husband told me to “file it away”.  (That’s his code for “I want to eat this again”)  I think it came in under 500 calories for everything.  Not too shabby.  🙂

For dessert, we fixed some single servings of Trader Joe’s Reduced Guilt Brownies.

They are pretty much “No Pudge” brownies.  They definitely hit the spot.  Nice and warm, ooey and gooey.  They’re perfect with a little whipped cream on top.

It’s time to watch some “Top Chef” and go to bed a little early tonight.  We have a long day tomorrow…

Have a great night.  🙂

2 Responses

  1. A: I want to really know what you think about the Body Bugg. They intrigue me, but I’ve been hesitant to put the cash down on it!

    B: That risotto looks amazing. Glad that I could be an inspiration.

    C: Your brother is getting married?!?! I guess I need to catch up on my Facebook lurking. 😉

  2. I will certainly let you know how it works!

    Isn’t it crazy that Nate is getting married?! We still can’t believe it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

