It’s All Greek To Me…

It’s been a long day.  Three swim practices (coaching two, swimming one), a final exam and errands.  Thankfully, I’m done with my summer class (yay!) and I got everything done that I needed.

I was a little upset with my swim.  I was all set to do 3,000 yards.  I was actually doing well.  I wasn’t swimming fast, but I was swimming.  I actually got a few lengths of butterfly worked in.  It wasn’t pretty – but it was there.  🙂  Unfortunately, I didn’t realize there was a class at 5:30.  And, apparently, with four kids in the class, they needed all four lanes.  (Can you tell I’m bitter?)  I did end up getting 1,800 yards in.  Not too bad – but those last 1,200 would have been nice.

Workout: (Sets in the parentheses are what I would have done if I had the time…)

Warmup: 200 swim, 200 pull, 200 kick, 200 swim

12 X 50 swim on 1:10 – fly/free, back/free, breast/free, free/free (X 3)

2 X 200 pull – one free, one backstroke – on 4:30

(2 X 200 pull – one free, one backstroke – on 4:30)

(8 X 50 on 1:00 – build)

(6 X 25 sprint on :35)

(200 cool down)

I guess I’ll get over the fact I didn’t get it in.  45 minutes is better than nothing, right?

For dinner, it was all about my trip to the Greek Store.  I make a stop there every once in awhile to pick up some feta ($2.89/pound!), pitas and anything else I may need.  Today, I picked up some feta, pitas, phyllo dough, mizithra and some Nutella (just ‘cuz).

I made some Greek chicken breast, brown butter noodles and broccoli for dinner.

The chicken breast was marinated with equal parts lemon juice and olive oil, Greek seasoning, black pepper, salt and oregano.  The whole wheat noodles had some browned butter and mizithra cheese on top.  If you haven’t had mizithra, it’s fantastic – in my opinion, of course.

It’s a hard cheese with a little bit of a bite.  It’s has some saltiness to it as well.  I guess it’s a fairly old cheese and according to the Greek yia-yias – it lasts forever.  🙂  The only unfortunate thing about it is that I’ve only been able to find it at the Greek stores around here.  I have a few recipes that call for it, and if I can’t find it, I usually substitute Romano.  It’s definitely not as good – but close enough.  🙂

Overall, it was a great meal.  We served it with a side of pita (and feta).  Yummmm….

Tomorrow is another BodyBugg weigh-in.  I really hope this week is better than last week!

Leave a Reply

