Did someone say shish-kebobs?

Dan and I had a special treat last night – my sisters came by and we collaborated on dinner.  We decided to do some grilling.  The weather was nice and we wanted something pretty healthy.

On the menu was shish-kebobs.  Steak, chicken and lots of veggies.  We paired it with some roasted potatoes and green beans.  It was delicious.

We started by chopping zucchini, red peppers, mushrooms, onions and tomatoes.  I added a little olive oil and some Montreal Steak Seasoning.

After the veggies were all cut, Alison cut up the protein.  The chicken breast was marinated in some olive oil, white pepper, salt and a little “BBQ 3000” from Penzey’s.  (It’s my new favorite spice rub).  The steak had olive oil and Montreal Steak Seasoning.  After they were all ready to go, we put the veggies and meat on separate skewers – because they cook at different rates.

Jackson was really hoping that something would fall into his mouth.

Lauren worked on her roasted potatoes.  I bought some small little yukon gold potatoes at Trader Joe’s last week and I needed to use them before they went bad.  We boiled them first so they didn’t take too long in the oven.  After they were cooked through, Lauren added fresh rosemary, olive oil and lemon juice.  When we were ready to grill, we put the potatoes in a 375 degree oven for about 20 minutes.

Dan was the grill master and cooked everything perfectly.

The roasted potatoes were absolutely perfect.  Nice and crisp on the outside, creamy on the inside.  And, you can’t beat that fresh rosemary straight from Lauren’s little herb garden.

Overall, it was one of the best meals of the summer.  Very good and pretty good for you too.  🙂  We topped off the night with a nice long walk with Jackson.

And, another thing to be excited about?  Look what I got in the mail yesterday…

If you haven’t figured it out already, I absolutely love the theater.  I love plays and musicals.  My favorite local theater company is the Milwaukee Rep.  I think they are extremely underrated.  Every show I’ve seen as been very well done.  I may not like every single show, but they always do a great job.  And, my favorite musical of all time is “Cabaret”.  I love it.  Love everything about it.  It has humor, history, sadness, love, loss, sex, greed, etc, etc…  And, it turns out, the Milwaukee Rep will be doing it’s first musical next season and it’s…. CABARET!!  🙂

I recognized the eyes on the mailing and got instantly giddy.  I’m so excited about it.  It makes me wish it was fall already…

I guess I can wait a month or two…  🙂

Leave a Reply

