Ole!

I am really behind on my blog posts, so you’ll have to excuse the rapid fire postings!  🙂

For some reason, the husband and I have been on a Mexican kick this week.  We had two consecutive meals that featured roughly the same ingredients.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining .  Both were delicious.

On Monday, the husband cooked up some shrimp with olive oil, lime juice and El Rey fajita seasoning.

In addition to the shrimp, we heated up some black beans and brown rice (the frozen variety from TJ’s).  I shredded a little bit of extra sharp cheddar cheese and brought the salsa out of the fridge (TJ’s brand, of course!).

After all of the ingredients were ready to go, we made our own “burrito bowls”.  We totally stole the idea from Chipotle.

We put this together often because it’s pretty cheap and easy to make.  It takes about 10 minutes to put everything together.  That works for me.  🙂

After dinner, Dan surprised me by saying, “Want to take a trip up to Trader Joe’s?”.  To which I simply replied, “Well, if you want to.”  Don’t be fooled, though.  In my head it was more like, “REALLY?  Trader Joe’s??  On a MONDAY?!  YES!  YES!  YES!!!!!!!”

At TJ’s we picked up all the basics, plus a few new products.  We couldn’t believe that we actually found a time that wasn’t too busy.  It was kind of nice to spend some time just looking at different products.  For some reason, I always feel rushed when I shop there.

The following day, we were going to do a vegetable stir fry, but found the vegetables that I had picked up for it were no longer good.  Boo.

But, I rallied and put together another Mexican inspired meal.  This time, we made chicken tacos.  I mistakenly picked up chicken thighs at TJ’s, but they worked out beautifully.  I cut the boneless, skinless thighs into cubes and marinated them in *surprise!* lime juice, olive oil and fajita seasoning.  After they marinated for about 30 minutes in the fridge, I quickly cooked them on the stove.

Dan warmed some tortillas – flour for me; corn for him.  And we added some avocado, salsa, extra sharp cheddar cheese and beans and created some delicious tacos.  On the side, we served some brown rice and black beans.

They were really, really good.  Even Jackson wanted some…

🙂

Leave a Reply

