Today’s Post is Brought to You By…

…. the letters H, L and S!

This weekend Mel and I visited Chicago for the Healthy Living Summit.  The summit was organized by a few healthy living bloggers.  While I did have a great time with Mel walking around the city, I don’t know if the summit was really organized for someone like me.  Don’t get me wrong, the information about nutrition and fitness was spectacular and I plan on using it as a coach.  However, I felt as if the conference was for those who had already mastered “healthy living”.  I know I haven’t and I have a long way to go.  I was hoping that this conference would help me to get there a little easier.  How do I start running?  How and where do I find good food – that not only tastes good, but is also affordable?  How can I mix good, healthy food with a donut here and there?  Can I eat a donut without feeling guilty?

I suppose I should have known that it wasn’t going to be like that, but I felt a little intimidated and, well – out of place.

I did learn a lot about myself, which is nothing to throw away.  I had a great time with an old friend and put myself out there a little more than I expected.  For me to go into an event only knowing one person was tough for me.  It took a lot of courage for me to do it – and I am proud of myself.  I do know that I want to keep blogging because I love it, but I shouldn’t feel obligated to fit into a certain mold.

Regardless, I had a good time and plan on using the information that I took away from it as much as possible.

And, on top of that, I can use the swag for a long time!  🙂

The last part of my day consisted of items from the HLS swag bag.  For a snack, I had a Blackberry Solixir and some sour cream and onion Pop Chips.

The Solixir was yummy.  Just sweet and bubbly enough to curb a soda craving.  And, I love Pop Chips – but I already knew that.  🙂

For dinner, Dan and I used the Subway gift cards that HLS provided.  I bought a foot long turkey and ham with cheese, spinach and cucumbers.  (I saved half of it for another time)  And, I shared some baked BBQ chips with Dan.

Wow – you can certainly tell that I used the iPhone 4 to take that picture.  (I have the third generation phone, Dan has an iPhone 4)  I had no idea that camera was *that* much better.  I might need to get one…  🙂

Leave a Reply

